JOSEPH CONRAD, Józef Teodor Konrad Korzeniowski (1857-1924)

Visuel de l'exposition par S. Miller - Imprimerie de l'UMB

Exposition conçue et réalisée par le Musée de la Littérature de Varsovie

Renseignements // tél : 03 88 25 28 00 // courriel :

JOSEPH CONRAD, Józef Teodor Konrad Korzeniowski (1857-1924)

5/12/2007 - 5/1/2008

On the occasion of the 150th anniversary of the birth of the Polish-born writer Joseph Conrad, and as part of the commemoration of "2007 - Joseph Conrad Year" proclaimed by UNESCO, the BNU, with the support of the Consulate General of the Polish Republic, invites you to discover the life and work of this major writer, who was one of the founders of the modern adventure novel.

Józef Teodor Konrad Korzeniowski (1857-1924)

Joseph Conrad was a Polish-born English writer. He was considered during his lifetime above all as the author of stories about the sea, and is now held to be a very great novelist whose moralising work demonstrates mastery of the narrative technique. His books (13 novels, two volumes of memoirs, and 28 short stories) show his deep interest in the human condition and his political preoccupations. Several of his novels appear to be autobiographical, but throughout his literary work, whether fiction or essays, Conrad is above all a moralist who highlights the issues of the individual's responsibility and human solidarity. (source:

For more information

Adventure novel

Lecture: Joseph Conrad - a cosmic Pole, by Mr Jan Zielinski

Tuesday, 11 December (6 p.m.) / BNU News Hall - entrance free of charge
Jan Zielinski is a literature specialist, critic, essay writer, translator, a former diplomat, the author of works on the European short story at the end of the nineteenth and start of the twentieth centuries, on Polish writers in exile, and curator of a number of literary exhibitions. He teaches history of Polish literature at Fribourg (Switzerland). He became professor at Cardinal Stefan Wyszynski University in Warsaw in 2007.

Share this

BNU

Imprimer

Agenda

JOSEPH CONRAD, Józef Teodor Konrad Korzeniowski (1857-1924)

Visuel de l'exposition par S. Miller - Imprimerie de l'UMB

Exposition conçue et réalisée par le Musée de la Littérature de Varsovie

Renseignements // tél : 03 88 25 28 00 // courriel : contact@bnu.fr

JOSEPH CONRAD, Józef Teodor Konrad Korzeniowski (1857-1924)

5/12/2007 - 5/1/2008

A l'occasion du 150e anniversaire de la naissance de l'écrivain d'origine polonaise Joseph Conrad et dans la cadre de la commémoration "2007 - année Joseph Conrad", proclamée par l'UNESCO, la Bibliothèque Nationale et Universitaire de Strasbourg, avec le soutien du Consulat général de la République de Pologne, vous invite à découvrir la vie et l'oeuvre de cet écrivain majeur, figure fondatrice du roman d'aventures moderne.

Józef Teodor Konrad Korzeniowski (1857-1924)

Joseph Conrad, romancier anglais d'origine polonaise, considéré de son vivant surtout comme l'auteur d'histoires de marins, est tenu aujourd'hui pour un très grand romancier dont l'oeuvre est à la fois d'un moraliste et d'un maître de la technique narrative. Ses livres (13 romans, deux tomes de mémoires et 28 nouvelles) montrent son profond intérêt pour la condition humaine et ses préoccupations politiques. Certains de ses romans semblent autobiographiques, mais dans toute son oeuvre littéraire, qu'il s'agisse de fictions ou d'essais, Conrad est avant tout un moraliste qui met en lumière les problèmes de la responsabilité de l'individu et de la solidarité des hommes. (source: www.culture.pl).


Pour en savoir plus

Wikipédia
Roman d'aventures

Conférence : Joseph Conrad - un Polonais cosmique par M. Jan Zielinski

Le mardi 11 décembre à 18h00 / Salle d'Actualité de la BNU - Entrée libre
Historien spécialiste de la littérature, critique, essayiste, traducteur, ancien diplomate, auteur d’ouvrages sur la nouvelle européenne à la fin du XIXe et début du XXe siècle, sur les écrivains polonais en exil, commissaire de plusieurs expositions littéraires, Jan Zielinski enseigne l’histoire de la littérature polonaise à Fribourg en Suisse. Depuis octobre 2007, il est professeur à  l’Université Cardinal Stefan Wyszynski à Varsovie.

Share this