BNU

Print

Organisation

The National University Library (BNU) in Strasbourg was founded after the fire that destroyed the old libraries of the Protestant seminary and the City of Strasbourg during the war in 1870. 300 000 volumes and 3 500 manuscripts were reduced to ashes. The disaster produced instant mobilisation, and the scale of the response to the appeal for donations launched throughout the German empire and the wider world was impressive. By 1873, the "Kaiserliche Universtäts und Landesbibliothek zu Strassburg", installed temporarily in the Château des Rohan, contained more than 200 000 volumes.

Board of Administration

The Decree of 15 January 1992 amended by the Decree of 8 September 2010 gave the BNU a new Board of Administration, comprising 29 elected or co-opted members, who are natural or legal persons, plus a further 11 members with consultative status.
The Chairman of the BNU's Board of Administration is Jacques Le Rider.

Administration

The Administration brings together all the services surrounding the institution's Administrator: the general secretariat, the 'New BNU' mission, the 'Training and Internal Communication' mission, the 'Cultural Action' mission, and International Relations & External Communication.

Directorate of Collection Development

The Directorate of Collection Development covers the departments for the acquisition of monographs and periodicals, electronic resources, legal deposit, and incoming items.

Directorate of Conservation and Heritage

The Directorate of Conservation and Heritage, headed by its Director, covers the department in charge of the reserve stacks, the restoration workshop, the iconography and cartography department, the digital library department, and book equipment.

Directorate of the Information System

The Directorate of the Information System is responsible for management of the IT Resources Centre and the retro-conversion and cataloguing departments.

Directorate of Services for the Public

The Directorate of Services for the Public is responsible for the departments in contact with the public, the shuttle service, and inter-library borrowing.

Contact a department

Administration

National University Library - BNU
5 Rue du Maréchal Joffre
PO Box 51029
67070 Strasbourg cedex

Reception
Tel.: +33 (0)3 88 25 28 00
Fax: +33 (0)3 88 25 28 03

 
Share this
Top

BNU

Imprimer

Organisation

La Bibliothèque Nationale et Universitaire de Strasbourg (BNU) a été fondée après l’incendie des anciennes bibliothèques du séminaire protestant et de la Ville de Strasbourg durant la guerre de 1870. 300 000 volumes et 3 500 manuscrits furent réduits en cendre. La catastrophe provoqua une mobilisation immédiate et  l’appel aux dons lancé dans l’Empire allemand et le monde entier eut un grand retentissement. Dès 1873, la Kaiserliche Universtäts und Landesbibliothek zu Strassburg, installée provisoirement dans le château des Rohan, compte plus de 200 000 volumes.

Le Conseil d'administration

Le Conseil d’administration de la BNU est composé de 29 membres ayant voix délibérative, (décret n°92-45 modifié, article 8). Il est présidé par M. Bernard Coulie, professeur ordinaire à l’Université catholique de Louvain, Recteur honoraire.

Le Conseil scientifique

Avec le décret n° 92-45 du 15 janvier 1992 modifié, et notamment ses articles 3 et 13, et au vu de la délibération du Conseil d'administration de la Bibliothèque nationale et universitaire de Strasbourg en date du 25 novembre 2011, il est créé un conseil scientifique de la Bibliothèque nationale et universitaire de Strasbourg, instance consultative destinée à éclairer les choix et les décisions relatives à la po

L'Administration

L'Administration regroupe l'ensemble des services entourant l'Administrateur de l'établissement : le Secrétariat général, la mission BNU Nouvelle et l'Action culturelle, les Relations internationales et  la Communication externe.

La Direction du développement des collections

La Direction du développement des collections réunit les services des acquisitions monographiques, des périodiques, des ressources électroniques, du dépôt légal et des entrées.

La Direction de la conservation et du patrimoine

La Direction de la conservation et du patrimoine rassemble autour du Directeur, le service en charge des Réserves, l'atelier de restauration, le service de l'iconographie-cartographie, le service de la bibliothèque numérique et l'équipement du livre.

La Direction du système d'information

La Direction du système d'information assure le pilotage du Centre de ressources informatiques (CRI), des services de la rétroconversion et du catalogage.

La Direction des services au public

La Direction des services au public est en charge des services assurant l'accueil du public, ainsi que du service de la navette et du prêt entre bibliothèques.

 
Share this